Sainte-Marie island

SAINTE-MARIE ISLAND : a little history...

Sainte-Marie Island is an enchanting island on the northwest coast of Madagascar whose name, in local language, is Nosy Boraha. In addition to being a true jewel nestled in the turquoise waters of the Indian Ocean, its name is associated with the history of piracy, during the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries.

In 1640, there was a first French attempt to create a new colony on the island, immediately curbed by strong tropical fevers that killed most of the pioneers.
Later, it is its strategic maritime position that will make the island a privileged port by various pirates and filibusters, with the aim of plundering ships and merchant fleets returning from the East Indies.
Thus the island, for a short time, was populated by several buccaneers, thus becoming haunt of international pirates (English, French, Portuguese, Americans), among which the famous William Kidd, John Avery and Olivier Le Vasseur "La Buse". The latter settled on the island and were fully integrated into the local population, giving rise to an ethnic group of mixed blood.
Some vestiges of this period are still present in the Pirates cemetery, located on a small island called the island of the Forbans, which has become a tourist attraction.


During this period, according to local legend, a Frenchman named Jean-Onésime Filet (better known by his pirate name "La Bigorne") was wrecked on a beach, fleeing the unfortunate consequences of his relationship with the wife of a colleague officer. One of the women of the region found him and then looked after him. She was none other than Princess Betia or Bety, daughter of King Betsimisaraka Ratsimilaho, himself a son of an English pirate.
Bety and "La Bigorne" married and, in July of 1750, after the death of the king, Bety ceded the island to France.

Subsequently, in 1752, the local population rebelled, massacring French settlers and exiling Princess Bety on Mauritius, with the aim of restoring control of the island to the Betsimisaraka.
But, in 1818, the return of the French turned the island into a penal colony.
In 1960, France granted independence to the inhabitants of Sainte-Marie island who, after the recognition of the generous gift of Princess Bety to France, could choose between French or Malagasy nationality.  Although the majority chose to remain Malagasy, many on the island still retain French names.

Church and Fortress


In 1857 was built the first Catholic Church in Madagascar, which you can visit just a few steps away from the village of Ambodifotatra and the Hotel of Vieux Fort. The hotel is also close to the old military fortress, which it takes the name, former French garrison, still occupied by the only military garrison of the island.

Fauna and Flora

Every year, humpback whales are a big event. Indeed, from July to September, these large marine mammals, after 5000 km of crossing from the frigid waters of the Antarctic, come to join the warm and shallow waters of the Malagasy coast in order to reproduce and give birth.  
The humpback whale is a species of baleen whale. Adult, it can reach twenty meters in length and weigh between 25 and 40 tons. She lives in the oceans and seas of the world. Cétamada, a Malagasy non-profit association founded in May 2009 and based on the island (see "Our partners") organizes every year whale safaris, respectful of sustainable ecotourism.


The interior of the island also contains some treasures like the primary forest of Ikalalalo or the bay of Ampanihy. You will be able to observe many endemic species : lemurs, orchids (including the magnificent Queen of Madagascar), spices (cloves, cinnamon, vanilla, coffee, pepper). The lagoon, sheltered from sharks, is endowed with important coral constructions.
It's up to you to choose your way of discovery: hiking, diving, biking, canoeing, to name but a few. Various guides await you to take you to meet the beauties of the island!

Ce message est également disponible en : French Italian

Île Sainte-Marie

ÎLE SAINTE-MARIE : un peu d'histoire...

L'île Sainte-Marie est une île enchantée sur la côte nord-ouest de Madagascar dont le nom, en langue locale, est Nosy Boraha. En plus d'être un véritable joyau niché dans les eaux turquoises de l'océan indien, son nom est associé à l'histoire de la piraterie, au cours des XVIIe et XVIIIe siècles.

En 1640, la première tentative française de créer une nouvelle colonie sur l'île fut immédiatement freinée par de fortes fièvres tropicales, tuant la plupart des pionniers. 
Plus tard, c'est sa position maritime stratégique qui fera de l'île un port privilégié par divers pirates et flibustiers, dans le but de piller navires et flottes marchandes de retour des Indes orientales.
Ainsi, l'île, durant un court laps de temps, se peupla de plusieurs boucaniers, devenant ainsi un repaire de pirates internationaux (Anglais, Français, Portugais, Américains), parmi lesquels les célèbres William Kidd, John Avery et Olivier Le Vasseur dit «La Buse». Ces derniers se sont installés sur l'île et pleinement intégrés à la population locale, donnant ainsi naissance à un groupe ethnique de sang mixte.
Certains vestiges de cette époque sont encore présents au cimetière des Pirates, situé sur une petite île nommée l'île aux Forbans, devenue une attraction touristique pour nombres de vacanciers.


Durant cette période, selon la légende locale, un français nommé Jean-Onésime Filet (plus connu sous son nom de pirate ‹‹ La Bigorne ››) fit naufrage sur une des plages de l'île Sainte-Marie, fuyant les conséquences malheureuses de sa relation avec la femme d'un collègue officier. Il fut recueilli et soigné par une femme de la région, qui n'était autre que la princesse Betia ou Bety, fille du roi Betsimisaraka Ratsimilaho, lui-même fils de pirate anglais.
Bety et ‹‹ La Bigorne ›› se marièrent et, en Juillet 1750, après la mort du roi, Bety céda l'île à la France.

Par la suite, en 1752, la population locale se rebella, massacrant les colons français et exilant la princesse Bety sur l'île Maurice, dans le but de rendre le contrôle de l'île aux Betsimisaraka.
Mais, en 1818, le retour des Français transforma l'île en une colonie pénitentiaire.
En 1960, la France accorda l'indépendance aux habitants de l'île Sainte-Marie, leur offrant la possibilité de choisir entre la nationalité française ou malgache. Bien que la majorité ait choisi de demeurer Malgache, beaucoup sur l'île conservent encore des noms français.

Eglise et forteresse


En 1857 fut construite la première église catholique de Madagascar, que vous pouvez visiter à seulement quelques pas du village d'Ambodifotatra et de l'hôtel du Vieux Fort. L'hôtel est également proche de la vieille forteresse militaire, dont il prend le nom, que l'on peut également visiter pour une somme modique. Un joli point de vue en hauteur sur la baie de l'îlot Madame et l'île aux forbans. Aujourd'hui encore, elle est occupée par la seule et unique garnison militaire de l'île.

La Faune et la Flore

Chaque année, le passage des baleines à bosse constitue un grand évènement. En effet, de juillet à septembre, ces grands mammifères marins, après 5000 km de traversée depuis les eaux glaciales de l'Antarctique, viennent rejoindre les eaux chaudes et peu profondes des côtes malgaches afin de se reproduire et donner naissance.  
La baleine à bosse est une espèce de cétacé à fanons. Adulte, elle peut atteindre une vingtaine de mètres de longueur et peser entre 25 et 40 tonnes. Elle vit dans les océans et mers du monde entier. Cétamada, association de droit malgache à but non lucratif fondée en mai 2009 et basée sur l'île (voir "Nos partenaires") organise chaque année des safaris baleines, respectueux d'un écotourisme durable.


L'intérieur de l'île renferme également quelques trésors comme la forêt primaire d'Ikalalalo ou la baie d'Ampanihy. Vous pourrez y observer de nombreuses espèces endémiques : lémuriens, orchidées (dont la magnifique Reine de Madagascar), épices (girofle, cannelle, vanille, café, poivre). Le lagon, à l'abri des requins, est doté d'importantes constructions coralliennes.
À vous de choisir votre mode de découverte : randonnée, plongée, vélo, pirogue, pour ne citer que ceux-là. Divers guides vous attendent pour vous emmener à la rencontre des beautés de l'île!

Ce message est également disponible en : Anglais Italien